Here we go again with the Facebook Graphic App hoax circulating unceasingly online. Lately, my wall has been flooded with requests from friends asking me to change their own Facebook privacy setting for them. Read the typical message posted on my wall.

sample

Hello to all of you who are on my list of contacts of Facebook. I would like to ask a favour of you… You may not know that Facebook has changed its privacy configuration once again. Thanks to the new “Graphic app”, any person in Facebook anywhere in the world can see our photos, our “likes” and our “comments”. During the next two weeks, I am going to keep this message posted and I ask you to do the following and comment “DONE”. Those of my friends who do not maintain my information in private will be eliminated from my list of friends, because I want the information I share with you, my friends, to remain among my friends and not be available to the whole world. I want to be able to publish photos of my friends and family without strangers being able to see them which is what happens now when you choose “like” or “comment”.

Unfortunately we cannot change this configuration because Facebook has made it like this. So, please, place your cursor over my photo that appears in this box (without clicking) and a window will open. Now move the cursor to the word “Friends”, again without clicking and then click on “Settings”. Uncheck “Life Events” and “Comments and Like”. This way my activity with my family and friends will no longer be made public. Now, copy and paste this text on your own wall (do not “share” it!). Once I see it published on your page, I will un-check the same for you. Thanks so much.

Although I have seen others being tricked by this, the message is a hoax. First, there is no such thing as “Graphic App” from Facebook. Second, your friends cannot control your privacy settings. If you don’t want some people to see your posts or any updates from you, set the limits yourself.

This Graphic App hoax is very similar to this other FB hoax.

Lastly, don’t believe in whatever you see on your wall posted by your friends. Use Google if you are in doubt.

Comments

comments